Manga over Movie (this time)

I’m usually one of those people who prefers the book over the movie. There are a few exceptions. Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause is both a fantastic book and movie. While the movie is very different from the book, it is fantastic in its own right. Another exception are the Miyazaki movies based on books, such as Howl’s Moving Castle. I have not read Tales From Earthsea (though this series is on my to-read list) or the books that Kiki’s Delivery Service, Arietty, Grave of the Fireflies, and When Marnie Was There were based off of. So I cannot speak for them. But I really do love Miyazaki’s Howl’s Moving Castle better than the book by Diana Wynne Jones.

A recent exception that I discovered is Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind. I only recently discovered that Miyazaki wrote and illustrated a seven volume manga of the series many years before the movie was produced. Obviously the movie had to be condensed and a few things changed for the continuity of the condensed version, but the movie still holds true to the main ideas of the manga. However, the manga is so much better. There are characters, events, and subplots that just create a masterpiece greater than the movie is considered.

I probably shouldn’t have read all seven volumes in a row rather than do my homework xD

P.S. Totally can’t remember if I posted about this before or not, but my friend Sarah and I are doing our honor’s senior project on Miyazaki’s movies 😀

 

Leave a Reply

